Trimester vs. Semester

I knew when I started home schooling this year that we would go to school year round. Because of this, I thought trimesters would be the way to go. I didn’t realize that a lot of the programs out there as well as the helps, such as record keeping and so on, were not quite caught up with the times. The record keeping program I use is based on semesters. The report card program I use is based on semesters. So, what is the benefit of trimesters over semesters? There really is none.

This next year, I will go back to semesters. I still set up our vacation as we want them. We still go to school year round, if I choose to. The report cards and all other record keeping will become much easier to handle, however as will ascertaining the credits and so on.

Not saying the trimester system doesn’t work, it’s just more work and I don’t need that.

Leave a Reply

