Peking Duck

I have always wanted to make a Peking Duck the way they do it in China. I will admit, it is a lot of work and I was a little concerned about the Chinese 5-spice rub as there were spices in it that, well, just didn’t seem right to me.

Regardless, I did as I should do and prepared it in the authentic Chinese manner. The first thing I had to do after cleaning it and removing the giblets, was to dip it several times for a few minutes each time in some boiling liquid with good things in it. The reasoning for this was to get some of the fat to start to render. Once that was done, the bird had to be hung up to dry with a fan blowing on it constantly for about 5 hours. I think mine was between 5 and 5.5 hours.

Next step was to rub the Chinese 5-spice powder on the bird and then put it in the oven. About 1.5 – 2 hours later, this is what we got to eat for dinner. It was delicious.

dscn2791

Leave a Reply

